IGCSE English Tutoring

What is the IGCSE?

The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is an English language curriculum offered to students to prepare them for the IB, A Level and BTEC Level 3.

The IGCSE was developed by University of Cambridge International Examinations.

The examination board Edexcel offers its own version, the Edexcel International GCSE.

Who is it for?

Students begin learning the syllabus at the beginning of year 10 and take the test at the end of year 11.

What is the difference between IGCSE and GCSE?

The IGCSE and GCSE examinations are generally recognized as being equivalent, and they offer different subjects.

How is it assessed?

The new GCSE qualifications are awarded on a grade scale of 1 (the lowest) to 9 (the highest).

Cambridge IGCSE retains its 8-point grading scale from A* to G, with a 9th grade of "U" for Ungraded.

The Cambridge examination board offers an ICE (International Certificate of Education) group qualification for candidates who achieve 7 subject passes A*-C across the following groups:

  • Group I: Languages
  • Group II: Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Group III: Sciences
  • Group IV: Mathematics
  • Group V: Creative, Technical and Vocational

The ICE is awarded in three grades: Distinction, Merit and Pass. It requires 2 passes in Languages, and one pass in every other group whilst the seventh subject be in any group to be qualified for an award.

Where to take it?

Click here to register for the IGCSE through the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority.


Are you looking for a native English tutor to help you improve your English for the GCSE or iGCSE examinations? Contact Tanja now!